Chelsea’s Hot Fudge Sauce

1 Jan

Boy did I like putting the title image for THIS post together! In order to have some natural light, it’s best to do blog pictures during the day, but in my family, we don’t usually do mid-afternoon bowls of ice cream. So, I made this fudge sauce a week ago, stuck it in the fridge, and waited. Waited until an afternoon bowl of ice cream sounded like the perfect thing. Waited until I was stuck to my laptop writing a paper due in the beginning of January. Waiting until I needed that little pick-me-up. Then I pulled out the ice cream, microwaved some fudge sauce, and crushed up a candy cane (have to use up those leftovers!). I admit it. I rushed through photographing the bowl of ice cream just so I could get on to eating it. This stuff is just that good.

You readers should count yourselves lucky, you know. This recipe is a, well, not exactly a secret but it’s definitely a family recipe. It comes to you from my great-aunt Joy, and is a summertime staple (my family has an old-fashioned crank-it-yourself ice cream machine, and it makes a vanilla ice cream that goes perfectly). I’m sure there are other delicious hot fudge sauce recipes out there in internet-land, but you should definitely try this…it’s easy to make, and you can store it in the fridge until it runs out (which never takes very long!) A quick note on serving: Scoop a little (or a lot) of fudge sauce into the bottom of a bowl, then microwave until it bubbles a little at the edges (generally 15-20 seconds). After the sauce is hot, scoop some ice cream on top and enjoy! (and while I’m being bossy: Have a happy New Year!)

You will need:
1 1/2 cups evaporated milk (that’s one can, folks)
2 cups of sugar
4 squares unsweetened chocolate (you can see, I used the good stuff!)
1/4 cup butter (half a stick)
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp salt

Directions

Heat milk and sugar to a rolling boil. Boil for one minute

Add chocolate and stir until melted. Remove from heat and beat with a mixer until smooth.

Video: Adding the chocolate to the boiling milk and sugar

Add butter, vanilla, and salt. Mix well.

From there, I poured it into mason jars and refrigerated. You can always have an ice cream sundae party to use up that hot fudge. If you feel like sharing.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

