Chocolate dipped Marshmallow pops

15 Dec

The idea for this project came from my science professor’s wife. On the last day of class, she brought in homemade marshmallow pops for us students. The gesture was so sweet, and the final product was so cute that I knew I needed to put these easy treats on the blog. I didn’t have an actual recipe, but it wasn’t hard to come up with one…I just wandered the grocery store and the Michaels until I’d found everything I thought I’d need.

I hit some serious road bumps in making these marshmallow pops. I thought they’d be easy to make in a dorm kitchen, but the fact that I didn’t get large enough marshmallows, coupled with the lack of good size dishware meant I was kind of making this up as I went. Katie and I tried to iron out the kinks as much as possible, so hopefully you won’t have the same trouble as we did. A final note: nothing is more important to this recipe than getting the giant marshmallows (literally 2 inches in diameter at the top!) because they make a cuter finished product, as well as an easier-to-assemble marshmallow pop. That said: enjoy!

Supplies:


Food

1 bag jumbo marshmallows (the largest marshmallows you can find)
  • We had to use smaller marshmallows than what I had in mind…a good brand is Campfire Giant Roasters. I’ve gotten them from Costco before, but check your local grocery stores to see if you can find them.
1 package of candy canes
1 bag of white chocolate or dark chocolate (or some of each, if you want to get really fancy!)

Craft supplies

Wooden dowel lollipop sticks (if available…the cheap white lollipop sticks work just fine!)
Cellophane (or the pre-made plastic treat bags)
Holiday ribbon
A couple short drinking glasses or mugs

Directions

  • Start by inserting the lollipop sticks into the marshmallows. Set aside for later.

Video: What we’re doing, and why we’ve adapted our recipe.
  • Unwrap all the candy canes. Place them in a plastic bag (to be safe, I’d suggest double bagging) and crush.

Video:You can do this several ways, from a hammer to a heavy skillet to a textbook. You want the pieces to be small, but not so fine that you’re dealing with powder.
  • Place the chocolate in a microwave safe bowl and microwave according to instructions. I did mine in 15 second bursts, stirring after each burst (I have to be cautious with the dorm microwave)
  • Lay things out “assembly line” style.
  • Dip the marshmallow three quarters of the way into the chocolate, trying to keep the marshmallow as upright as possible. It doesn’t have to be perfect—a little imperfection just shows these are homemade!
  • Immediately after dipping the marshmallow, roll it halfway in the crushed candy canes. Note: after making a few marshmallow pops, one area will naturally become devoid of larger candy cane chunks. That’s what I’m referring to in the video. Please don’t try to separate your candy cane pieces out by size!

Video: Whole process for one marshmallow.
  • Place the marshmallows in the cups to set. Or, if you want, just set the marshmallows on a clean flat surface. It will take up more space this way, but you won’t get glasses dirty.
  • Once set, cut the cellophane into squares large enough to wrap around the whole top of the lollipop. Wrap the pops in cellophane, using a length of the holiday ribbon to secure the wrapper.

Video: Putting it all together

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Leave a Reply

